Guide · Updated Oct 25, 2026
How Many Questions on the Hazmat Test: State Table + TSA
Most states do not print how many questions are on the hazmat test. Where a state does, the number is 30. That covers Illinois, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Washington, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Missouri and Wisconsin.
The short answer
The hazmat (H) knowledge test has 30 questions in the eight states below that publish a count. You must get 80 percent right, which is 24 correct. The other 12 states in our table do not state a count on the pages we read.
The step that trips people up is not the test. It is the TSA background check. Some states want it before the test. Others want it after. Get the order wrong and you can lose weeks.
State table: questions, pass mark and TSA step
We read each state page or manual on 2026-10-25. "Not published" means the pages we read did not say. We did not fill gaps from memory.
| State | Hazmat questions | Pass mark | When the TSA step comes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Texas | Not published | 80% per section (general CDL rule) | Fingerprinting starts only after you apply for the H at the license office | DPS |
| California | Not published | Not published | After you apply for the CDL and pass the knowledge tests | DMV |
| Florida | Not published | Not published | Fingerprints at a license office when you apply for the H | FLHSMV |
| Georgia | Not published | 80% | Get fingerprinted, then take the test; process takes about 60 to 90 days | DDS FAQ, DDS Sec. 1 |
| Illinois | 30 | 80% (general CDL test) | TSA assessment must be on file before the written test | SOS |
| Michigan | 30 | 80% | TSA letter needed to apply for the H | Manual |
| Minnesota | Not published | Not published | 2021 brochure lists the test first, then TSA application and fingerprints | DVS |
| Ohio | Not published | Not published | Pass the TSA assessment before you apply for the CDL with the H | BMV |
| Pennsylvania | 30 | Not published | After you pass the test | PennDOT |
| New York | Not published | 80% | Written test, then form HAZ-44, then IdentoGo fingerprints by appointment | DMV |
| Virginia | Not published | Not published for hazmat | Listed after the knowledge exam; $83 DMV fingerprint fee ($41 with TWIC) | DMV |
| Tennessee | Not published | Not published | TSA clearance first; the knowledge test comes after | Driver Services |
| Washington | 30 | 24 correct | TSA application and fingerprints come before the knowledge test | DOL test, DOL hazmat |
| Arizona | Not published | 80% | Only after you pass all required CDL and hazmat written tests | MVD |
| New Jersey | 30 | 80% | Apply to TSA and give fingerprints; order vs. the test not stated | CDL Manual |
| Massachusetts | 30 | 24 correct | TSA check is a listed requirement; strict order not stated | RMV |
| Missouri | 30 | 80% | TSA approval needed before the H is issued | Rule, DOR |
| Wisconsin | 30 | 80% | After the test: fingerprints within 7 days, $23.75 to Fieldprint | Requirements, H page |
| Maryland | Not published | Not published | Fingerprints and TSA approval before the knowledge test | MVA |
| South Carolina | Not published | 80% (general CDL knowledge tests) | Steps listed "not necessarily in this order"; $86.50 IdentoGo fee on the state form | DL-400 |
Two notes. Virginia's page states 80 percent for the general knowledge exam only, so we left hazmat blank. Minnesota's order comes from a March 2021 brochure, so call before you rely on it.
What 80 percent means for you
Federal rule 49 CFR 383.135 says you must answer at least 80 percent of the questions on each knowledge test correctly. On a 30 question test, that is 24 right. You can miss 6. Massachusetts and Washington print "24" themselves.
Do the math for your state only if the state prints a count. If it does not, ask the office. Do not plan around a forum number. For the other CDL tests, see how many questions are on each CDL test.
The TSA check, and how we plan it
Federal rule 49 CFR 383.141 says a state may not issue, renew, upgrade or transfer a hazmat endorsement unless TSA has found you are not a security risk, or you hold a valid TWIC. That is why every state in the table mentions TSA.
TSA says to enroll at least 60 days before you need a decision, and that the assessment is valid for five years. The fee is set by TSA and changes, so read it on tsa.gov the day you enroll. Our table shows what each state page printed, and those amounts do not all match.
Here is how we plan it with new drivers:
- First, learn the order in your state. The table shows states that go test first, TSA first, or a mix. Do not guess.
- Second, start TSA early where your state allows it. Waiting 60 days after you pass the test is a slow way to get your H.
- Third, finish ELDT theory before the test if this is your first H. The federal rule treats the hazmat knowledge test as the step that needs entry-level training first. Read ELDT explained for who must do it.
- Fourth, budget for more than the test. TSA, fingerprints and state fees are all separate in many states.
Remember that a CLP cannot carry hazmat. Under 49 CFR 383.25, a permit holder must not operate a commercial motor vehicle transporting hazardous materials.
How to get ready for the 30 questions
The hazmat test covers hazard classes, shipping papers, placards, loading, parking and emergencies. If it feels like a lot, it is. Read what makes it tough in is the hazmat endorsement hard, then work through the hazmat study guide.
Ten exam-style questions built from the official CDL manual are below. Miss a few, then go back to the manual section. You can also try more on the hazmat practice test.
FirstTry CDL is a CDL permit test prep site by Hive Asset Group, LLC. It offers free exam-style practice tests built from the official CDL manual. FirstTry CDL is not affiliated with any DMV, FMCSA or government agency. Practice questions are exam-style questions built from the official CDL manual, not actual test questions.
Practice next
Rules, fees and test details differ by state. Pick yours:
Common questions
How many questions are on the hazmat test?
Eight of the 20 states in our table publish a count, and all eight say 30 questions: Illinois, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Washington, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Missouri and Wisconsin. The other 12 do not publish one on the pages we read. Do not trust a number from a forum. Ask your office or read your state manual.
How many can I miss on the hazmat test?
Federal rules (49 CFR 383.135) say you must answer at least 80 percent correctly. On a 30 question test, that is 24 correct, so you can miss 6. Massachusetts and Washington both print 24 correct to pass. If your state does not print a count, do not assume 30. Check first.
Do I do the TSA background check before or after the hazmat test?
It depends on the state. Tennessee, Maryland and Washington say TSA steps come before the knowledge test. Pennsylvania and Arizona say after. Wisconsin says get fingerprinted within 7 days of passing the test. Illinois needs the TSA check on file before the written test. Read your state page before you pay anyone.
How much does the TSA hazmat check cost?
TSA sets the fee and changes it, and state pages do not always match. We saw $83 on Virginia's page, $86.50 on South Carolina's state form and $23.75 to the fingerprint vendor in Wisconsin. Check tsa.gov for the current amount and confirm with your state, because states can add their own fingerprint or application charges.
Can I carry hazmat on a CLP?
No. Under 49 CFR 383.25, a CLP holder must not operate a commercial motor vehicle transporting hazardous materials. You need a CDL with the H endorsement first. That also means the TSA check is not optional paperwork. States cannot issue the H until TSA clears you.
Sources
- 49 CFR 383.135: Passing knowledge and skills tests (eCFR API text)
- 49 CFR 383.141: Hazardous materials endorsement general rules (eCFR API text)
- 49 CFR 383.25: Commercial learner's permit (eCFR API text)
- 49 CFR 380.605 and 380.609: Entry-level driver training definitions and requirements (eCFR API text)
- TSA: Hazmat Endorsement Security Threat Assessment
- Texas DPS: Hazardous Materials Endorsement
- California DMV: TSA background check for hazmat endorsement
- Florida FLHSMV: Hazmat information
- Georgia DDS: CDL licensing information FAQs
- Georgia DDS: Section 1 Introduction
- Illinois Secretary of State: CDL hazmat (archived copy)
- Minnesota DVS: Hazmat endorsement brochure (March 2021)
- Michigan Secretary of State: CDL manual
- Ohio BMV: CDL classes and endorsements
- PennDOT: Apply for a hazmat endorsement
- New York DMV: CDL endorsements (archived copy)
- Virginia DMV: Hazmat endorsement
- Tennessee Driver Services: Hazmat endorsement
- Washington DOL: CDL knowledge test
- Washington DOL: Hazardous materials endorsement
- Arizona MVD: FAQ hazmat background checks (archived copy)
- New Jersey MVC: CDL Manual
- Massachusetts RMV: Apply for a commercial learner's permit (archived copy)
- Missouri 12 CSR 10-24.300: CDL written examinations
- Missouri DOR: Hazmat endorsement
- Wisconsin DMV: CDL requirements
- Wisconsin DMV: Hazmat endorsement
- Maryland MVA: Hazmat endorsement
- South Carolina DMV: DL-400 (IS) hazmat information
Rules and numbers can differ by state. See how we source facts.